Sick leaves as per UP Government

Hi,
I work as an HR for a CA company and I have to prepare the leave document, which I have prepared as per the Indian Labour Law and UP Shops and Establishments Act. Now my main question is that in the UP S&E Act it says that there are 15 sick leave, but can I give 12 sick leaves in a year?

3 Likes

As the rule says" Every employee; who has been in continuous employment of the same
employer for a period of six months or over shall, subject to such conditions
as may be prescribed, be further entitled to sickness leave for not less than
fifteen days in anyone calendar year", you can not make it 12. This can be considered as non-compliance. Recommend to consult a labour lawyer before taking any such step

Compliance wiki: Employment Laws and HR Compliances for Uttar Pradesh

3 Likes

Please suggest, can SL/CL be more than 08 days per calendar year…

3 Likes

As per my limited understanding no labour legislation limits the rights of the employee to avail leave in a year by a fixed number. If the organaization wanted to manage the production and work-life balance, separate rules shall be made and make it part of conduct and discipline /appropriate rules

2 Likes

Hi Abhinav,

The state specific Shops and Establishments Act, prescribes the minimal quantum of leaves that should be provided to the employees.

Section 10 of UP Shops Act prescribes as follows (for earned leave, sick leave and casual leave):
(1) Every employee, who has been in continuous employment of the Same employer for a period of twelve months or over, shall, in addition to any holiday allowed under section 9, be entitled to earned leave for not less than fifteen days for every twelve months of such service:
Provided that a watchman or a caretaker who has been in continuous employment for a period of twelve months or over shall be, entitled to not less than sixty days earned leave for every twelve months of such service.